Star Wars: A Geek’s Tale: Episode I

The first in a long series of emails sent to friends in the months leading up to the release of what was expected to be the final Star Wars movie, Revenge of the Sith.

previews 2005

As you all know (since I keep reminding of you of it!) I am a big Star Wars geek. Three years ago I attended Star Wars Celebration II, the only officially sanctioned Star Wars convention of 2002, in Indianapolis. Last year it was announced that this year’s Celebration III would also be held in Indianapolis in April. It was promised to be bigger and better than Celebration II.

I hesitated in registering for the four-day event.

You see, I’ve long felt the desire to shed the Jedi robes of geekiness and start living a normal life. While there has never been a doubt that I will go see Episode III: Revenge of the Sith when it is released this spring on May 19, I planned to avoid the nerd convention, the promotional items and the new merchandise that will soon be flooding the market.

But then the inevitable happened.

It was announced last fall that the new Pixar movie The Incredibles, a movie I was already looking forward to, would have the first trailer for Episode III attached to it. The familiar feeling of anticipation began to build. The trailer did not disappoint. The action was awesome and seeing what is apparently the “birth” of Darth Vader was doubly so. Once again I felt the overwhelming desire to keep going back to a movie, but this time it was to see the trailer before the movie. I held out as long as I could. The seduction of the Dark Side was too strong. While I managed to limit my viewings of The Incredibles to only two, I intentionally went to see National Treasure at such a time that allowed me to sneak in to the previews before The Incredibles on another screen.

The seduction was now complete.

Coming Up:
The Dark Side’s powerful ally

Leave a Reply

