Star Wars: A Geek’s Tale: Episode VIII

vaderstatue2005

Able to feel the conflict raging within me, eBay presented an offer I couldn’t refuse. Wait a minute. Wrong movie reference. Let’s see. Able to blah, blah, blah…, eBay…uhmmm…. [deep inhalation followed by exhalation of air] I’ll have to get back to this later.

Trying to take my mind off of the Darth Vader busts on eBay, I began looking up other items. Some of those items were Star Wars statues.

The statues are produced by Gentle Giant Studios, the same company that produced the busts I own. Gentle Giant uses 3-D imaging to scan the actors, costumes and props from the movies. They download the information into a computer and use the 3-D image and traditional sculpting techniques to produce their incredibly detailed busts. They recently began selling 15-inch scale statues, starting with Chewbacca, C-3PO and….

Darth Vader.

The Vader statue was being offered by retailers as a pre-sale item on eBay. The retail price from Gentle Giant is $200, more than I wanted to pay. Retailers were posting them with Buy It Now prices as low as $130.

Jerry, whose loyalty I was beginning to question, pointed out that I could sell my Vader bust for $400, buy the Vader statue for a low, low Buy It Now price and still come out ahead in the long run. I had to admit that it made sense. While I would be out the bust, I would have a statue to replace it.

I placed the bust up for auction with a reserve price of $400 and a Buy It Now of $405. The bust was getting more than that in other auctions so I didn’t want to feel cheated by selling it for a lower price. The auction lasted for a week. The bust didn’t sell with a maximum bid of $310.

Meanwhile, I bought a Vader statue with a Buy It Now of $145. The seller’s description said the statue would be ready to ship by mid-April. I started to salivate.

I put the Vader bust up for auction a second time, this time with a reserve price of $350 and no Buy It Now option. It only reached $295 while nearly every other bust offered was fetching close to $400 or more. I was perplexed.

Meanwhile, I won a Chewbacca statue for $145, well below the suggested retail price of $200. I also won the Han Solo and Luke Skywalker stormtrooper disguise exclusive busts.

I posted the Vader bust a third time at the same reserve price. This time I stated in the description what the reserve was. It sold for $415 to a fellow geek over in Great Britain.

I hated to part with the Vader bust, but the $365 profit off of one bust covered almost the entire cost of two statues and two busts. I felt pretty good about that.

Now I just need to get over the fact that I paid $24.95 for the Obi-Wan Kenobi and Darth Vader Galactic Heroes figures that I later found at Meijer for $5.99.

Coming up:
April 2, the onslaught begins

Leave a Reply

